Talk

Advanced search

What's Egham like?

(12 Posts)
Maria101 Fri 16-Mar-12 14:51:14

I live in SE London in a flat and have a toddler, so we're thinking of making the move out to Surrey (close to our in laws). Egham seems to have good transport links and ticks a lot of boxes. However, I have no experience of it and wondered if there were any mums on here who lived in Egham? What's it like? Is it mum and child friendly? Are the schools good? I also like the look of Englefield Green, Virginia Water and Windsor. Any first hand experience of these areas?

FruitSaladIsNotPudding Fri 16-Mar-12 14:54:50

VW is very posh and not many young families I would say. But pretty and green.
Englefield Green is a busy village, nice centre but has quite rough areas. Egham is ok, there's not loads going on, but it is pleasant enough.

I would pick Englefield Green of the 3 - think it has a nice community feel and would be a good place to bring up children. Good schools too.

Maria101 Fri 16-Mar-12 15:12:20

Brilliant, thank you. Any others areas close by you would recommend for young families?

FruitSaladIsNotPudding Fri 16-Mar-12 15:19:33

Shepperton perhaps? Thorpe village is very sweet but small, so depends what you are after really!

Rhubarbgarden Sun 18-Mar-12 23:16:26

I lived in Egham and Windsor when I was a student, and I had many friends at the time who lived in Englefield Green. It's sixteen years ago now oh god I'm old but back then Englefield Green was very studenty which may be a good or bad thing depending on your viewpoint. Egham was ok, if a bit, erm, suburban. I loved living in Windsor. It's got a really vibrant feel to it, interesting shops and restaurants, and a nice mix of people. Windsor Great Park is a wonderful bit of green space to have on your doorstep. The tourist numbers could be mildly annoying on summer weekends, but not a huge problem.

Rhubarbgarden Sun 18-Mar-12 23:17:51

Oh, and Datchet is worth considering.

mrsflower Mon 19-Mar-12 10:03:54