Talk

Advanced search

Would you buy flat above a kebab delivery/takeaway?

(21 Posts)
hippodrama Mon 03-Oct-11 22:32:29

Much bigger than anything else around and is also close to good friend with DC's.

Realise it might be hard resale but would be planning to buy outright and after few years rent it out. For me and my DS 2.8.

Would kebab, delivery, takeaway put you off?

fastweb Mon 03-Oct-11 22:35:22

I think staking it out of a weekend night might be a good idea especially if it is near a pub or a club.

But other than that, off the top of my head I can't think of any objections.

Unless their extractor fan was directly under on of my future "essential to be open" windows.

galletti Mon 03-Oct-11 22:44:11

I wouldn't to be honest. Noisy, smelly. I work in a shop front next to take aways and there are always issues with rubbish and more importantly rodents. Would you be accessing your flat form the back of the shops? If so, it will be dark at night. The Councils we work with will not house anyone in a flat above a take away. Sorry.

Ilikepinkwine Mon 03-Oct-11 22:46:36

Sounds like the kind of place I would have rented in my late teens/early twenties quite happily. Not sure I would want to live in a flat above a take-away on my own with a child though- how safe would you feel on a Saturday night if it was surrounded by drunks looking for a post-pub brawl?

deste Mon 03-Oct-11 22:55:41

My problem would be smell, rodents and cockroaches.

SparklePrincess Mon 03-Oct-11 22:58:51

NO

PoppyDoolally Mon 03-Oct-11 23:02:12

No no no.

You are statistically more likely to be stabbed/drive by shot at/punched etc at such a food outlet. Other such danger zones are chicken cottages and taxi ranks.

Dont do it.

Joolyjoolyjoo Mon 03-Oct-11 23:02:22