Talk

Advanced search

How much do tilers cost...?! Help!

(9 Posts)
yosammitysam Thu 25-Nov-10 14:07:23

Just been given a quote from a tiler (who is supposed to be cheap and was recommended by the company doing our loft conversion) of £500 to tile approx 12 square metres (probably a bit less) - this doesn't include the tiles or grout which we have to provide. It will be 1 days work for two of them (there are no tiles on the wall currently- we are converting a bedroom) and will be a very simple job of sticking on a load of plain white tiles. This seems really pricey to me- I was expecting more like £200 but I have never used a proffessional tiler before so I have no idea if that's a lot or not....
Am really pushed for time to get more quotes as the bathroom suite will be going in in a week and a bit- I just thought I'd go with this guy as I'd been told he was good and cheap...
Am I being ripped off?? Help???

SpotSplatterSplash Thu 25-Nov-10 15:22:47

Yes that is pretty dear...

I am in Ireland and used to work in a tile providers.

Tilers charged in and around €18 per M2, unless a difficult or specialty material such as natural slate or marble.

I would expect it to be around £200 too, I know my Mum's tiling in the UK was done at pretty much the same rate, so I am not sure as to why it is so expensive.

ItIsILeclerc Fri 26-Nov-10 19:54:14

My little bro is a quantity surveyor and reckons it should be around £21/sq m for trade and around £25-30/sq m domestic, plus another £40 or so for grout, silicone etc. We just had 5 and a bit sq m done for £160 - we supplied tiles, he supplied grout, adhesive, edging etc. Tbh that was a bit more than I expected but apparently was mates' rates as tiler owed my brother a favour.

Get a few more quotes and see how they compare.

ilikeyoursleeves Fri 26-Nov-10 21:47:46

We just got tiling for 17m2: for labour, adhesives and grout it cost £330. A bargain considering another quote for the exact same work was £700!