Talk

Advanced search

Sewing Machines - come and tell me which one of these you would buy

(7 Posts)
AvadaKedavra Wed 29-Jul-09 19:26:36

www.additionsdirect.co.uk/rf/add/s.do?Ntx=mode+matchallpartial&Nu=this_product&Np=1&Nty=1&Ntk=generi c_search&Ntt=sewing%20machine

Which would you buy?

Is more expensive always better?

<novice>

DidEinsteinsMum Wed 29-Jul-09 19:33:52

Pesronally i wouldnt buy any of them but 1. i am not a novice (blew last machine up due to over use) and 2. I have my eye on a beauty.

My advice would be to consider
a) what do you intend to use if for
eg repairs/makes/patchwork etc and which materials eg light weight vs heavy weight vs fluffy backings
b) How much do you intend to use it.

My sister has a cheap no brand name machine that she has had for years. She uses it for hemming and basic repairs.

I have a similar machine which i outgrew immediately and have had to have repaired 2 and blew up in the same time.

Expesnive is not necessarily better if you dont want to do anything adventerous, however if you are thinking about dressmaking and more heavyweight/complicated projects and usage then the money is generally worth it.

singalongamumum Wed 29-Jul-09 19:35:10

I have the brother one that costs about £80 and I love it. I am not a keen sewer but so glad I have it for small but necessary jobs since having DS. My opinion is that you only really need to spend more than that if it will be having a lot of use, sewing thick fabrics or you want to do something complicated.

That said, I didn't want to spend less than that because I didn't want it to fall apart after 6 months.

craftynclothy Wed 29-Jul-09 19:38:19

Do you have a local sewing shop near you that sells sewing machines? If so, I'd go in and see what they have. They'll be able to advise you what you need for whatever you're planning on using it for & will let you have a go with the machines.