Talk

Advanced search

Car seats - Isofix versus not Isofix: how do I chose?

(15 Posts)
Essie3 Sun 21-Jun-09 15:58:14

I'm about to buy a forward facing car seat. I got a temporary Which subscription, and the one that comes out best is the Kiddy Infinity Pro with 78%, but that's not isofix; second is MaxiCosi Priorifix which is Isofix with 75%. There's not much in it - I'd looked at Maxi Cosi because I knew the name of the brand blush.
My car is a VW Golf with Isofix points.

What are the advantages - if I have Isofix, should I use it? Or go for the better rated (and cheaper blush) Kiddy one?

Someone help! I have a PhD, but this car seat business is rocket science! grin

MIAonline Sun 21-Jun-09 16:18:20

If you can afford it, get Isofix, the stats for isofix safety, compared to a standard seat are incredible. It is worth paying the extra.

LittleHarrysMum Sun 21-Jun-09 16:59:34

Ok for easy use I would say def go for the isofix, plaus I would say for safety do the same.

For my DS I didn't go for isofix and the faffing about getting carseat in and out of car was a nightmare, plus if you're in a rush you don't know if you've done it 'properley',

With DD I went with Isofix (maxi-Cosi) and it is fantastic. Always know if it's in right and it's one click in the car and go.

To me there is no comaprison. HTH

LittleHarrysMum Sun 21-Jun-09 17:00:06

comparison

CMOTdibbler Sun 21-Jun-09 20:29:01

Def Isofix. They are so much more rigidly fixed to the car its amazing. Also no risk of incorrect installation

HeinzSight Sun 21-Jun-09 20:40:49

Go for a rear facing car seat! Much safer up until age 4. www.rearfacing.co.uk