Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Anyone brought their own sonic aid?? Would welcome a midwives oppinion

(6 Posts)
quietlycautious Wed 30-Mar-05 12:36:44

I have just found out I'm pregnant after suffering a miscarriage earlier this year and I've been thinking about buying my own doppler/fetal heartrate moniter - or whatever other names they go by.

I was just wondering if anyone else had brought one or what the guidlines are for using them - I'm slightly worried about the frequency waves causing damage.

Would be really grateful for any advice/recommendations!!!

vickiyumyum Wed 30-Mar-05 12:43:17

i'm a student midwife and i know from experience that it is near on impossible to find the fetal heartbeat with a sonicaid before 12 weeks, depending on the build of mum it can be as late as 16 wks before you get a good clear heartbeat.(with the sonicaid)
so this can sometimes cause unnecessary worry for the mum when she can't find the heartbeat.
i would have a word with your midwife/gp/consultant, they can arrange extra scans, appointments etc to mointor the baby, some consultants will even arrange loans of sonicaids to mums with previous history.
if you do decide to buy one it might be worth looking on ebay as i have seen them on there for around £70 whereas the ones you buy from medical suppliers are around £300.

quietlycautious Wed 30-Mar-05 12:48:24

thanks for the advice vicki - I know it is unusual to hear the heartbeat before 12 weeks but my miscarriage was a late one and so hearing the heartbeat even at 16-20 weeks would be comforting to me.

I will have a word with my mw when I see her

Thanks again

starlover Wed 30-Mar-05 17:46:51

quietlycautious... there have been a few other threads on this and I think overall the advice is that it will cause you even more worry!

as vicki already said, the heartbeat can be hard to find and you may worry yourself needlessly by not hearing it, or hearing things that you don't recognise.