Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Calling journalists, PAs, etc: hand-held digital voice recorders...

(10 Posts)
bakedpotato Mon 19-Feb-07 10:56:55

Any recommendations?
What sort of capacity do they have?

bakedpotato Mon 19-Feb-07 11:58:30

cough

slalomsuki Mon 19-Feb-07 12:00:56

I'd like to know too

bakedpotato Mon 19-Feb-07 13:08:03

Anyone able to help us?

BecauseImWorthIt Tue 20-Feb-07 18:46:26

I have an Olympus digital recorder (I'm a market researcher).

It's fantastic. I get my tapes transcribed and all the transcribers say how good the sound quality is.

Don't know about the capacity but safe to say it's hours - I think about 14? - it depends what quality you record on.

Does this help or do you need to know more? I can find model number for you later when I can be arsed to go upstairs to my office if you need that!

BecauseImWorthIt Tue 20-Feb-07 18:47:03

When I say tapes, clearly I'm speaking nonsense! I meant, when I get my sound files transcribed ...

bakedpotato Tue 20-Feb-07 19:10:07

Oh, thank goodness you have popped in.
How do you send the sound files elsewhere (I"m asking bcs I'll have to keep them for an indefinite period -- I'm a journalist)?
How much did yours cost?
How reliable is it? Has it EVER let you down and how long have you had it, how much do you use it?

BecauseImWorthIt Tue 20-Feb-07 19:14:41

It has never let me down [crossed fingers emoticon] - any problems have been down to me and lack of coping with new technology!

Don't know about cost because PA sourced it - but I can find out if you want? For us, the cost was also linked in with transcribing machines.

We send files through yousendit.com - a free service. There is a limit in terms of size of file, but for sound files it's fine.

It comes with software that means you download the files onto your computer, so you can keep them there as long as you want, and then you can delete them from the machine.

HTH

BecauseImWorthIt Wed 21-Feb-07 08:10:51