Talk

Advanced search

iPad - WiFi or Cellular?

(8 Posts)
rubyhorse Fri 16-Nov-12 21:48:48

Hello - I'm considering an iPad for Christmas. I'd like to use it to get online when I'm out and about in places which don't necessarily have WiFi. Will I need to buy a Cellular version of an iPad for that, or is there something I can do with a mobile phone / dongle to avoid the need?

Thanks for any help - complete newbie here...

Vivalebeaver Fri 16-Nov-12 21:53:59

Mines just wifi and I use my android smartphone as a wifi hotspot when out and about if I can't find a proper wifi hotspot.

rubyhorse Fri 16-Nov-12 21:56:30

Sounds good. How do you do that? Do you have a good data package on your phone?

rubyhorse Fri 16-Nov-12 21:57:00

(because I'm just about to upgrade my phone and need to know what to look for!)

BertieBotts Fri 16-Nov-12 21:59:56

If you have a fairly decent smartphone then yes you can share your data connection as a wireless access point. If you're on android, you can check if your phone has this capability by looking under the settings/wireless and network and seeing if the option is there.

However, this is not always counted as part of your standard data charges/allowance, it's best to check with your network provider about this. Also it tends to kill the phone battery, so it might be worth getting a back up battery.

Other than that you can get a wireless mobile/dongle thing, which runs on batteries and creates a little wireless network for itself which you can connect an iPad to. You'll need to put a sim card into this, not a normal phone sim, but a data only sim, and the charges are the same as the USB dongles you can get for laptops/computers (ie, pay monthly or pay as you go, although with PAYG sometimes there's a time limit as to when you have to use the data by)