Talk

Advanced search

Pls someone talk to me re Android vs Iphone? pros and cons etc

(20 Posts)
nowwearefour Wed 20-Jul-11 19:50:19

I am at complete novice at this. i'd like to know why some love one over the other etc. i think my choices have boiled down to Iphone 3 (8gb) vs HTC wildfire. Anyone any advice/ views?

magicmummy1 Wed 20-Jul-11 19:54:47

I'm very ignorant about stuff like this but have an iPhone 4 through work and am completely in love with it! grin

No experience of android so nothing to compare. Sorry!

JarethTheGoblinKing Wed 20-Jul-11 19:59:28

HTC Desire is a better bet. It's half the price of the iPhone but you lose out on the choice of apps and IMO the camera isn't as good. I live my Desire though

BertieBotts Wed 20-Jul-11 20:00:23

I love my android phone! The spellcheck through the swype text entry system is a lot better than the iPhone's autocorrect.

I don't see much difference between them - the big pull for either is the apps, and most apps are available for both, or equivalent ones anyway, so there isn't much to choose from.

Sometimes iphone apps come out first (e.g. the mumsnet app) but OTOH, android is completely open source, you can opt to download any apps you like from anywhere on the web, whereas with apple you can only go through their app store.

JarethTheGoblinKing Wed 20-Jul-11 20:01:56

That makes no sense. What I meant was that the desire is better than the wildfire.

Madlizzy Wed 20-Jul-11 20:02:06

Android most definitely, otherwise you're tied to Apple and iTunes completely, whereas androids can be treated like an external hard drive on your computer, making it easier to just drag and drop files rather than having to do a full sync.

nowwearefour Wed 20-Jul-11 20:02:38

interesting- there is nothing wrong with an iphone 3 then apart from it not being the latest?

nowwearefour Wed 20-Jul-11 20:03:34