Talk

Advanced search

When to start looking at primary schools

(6 Posts)
bryony77 Tue 13-Oct-09 16:33:03

Sorry, but am a total novice at all this; DD's at nursery and I've already heard some parents talking about going round schools. She's only 2 and it hadn't occurred to me I needed to start looking now - is it usual to start looking and visiting or when is the most usual time? Also, when do they usually start - term before 5th birthday?

made to feel a bit of an uncaring mum seeing as I'm assuming this is all in the future!

stillstanding Tue 13-Oct-09 16:39:10

Oooh you've left it waaaay too late, bryony. Your DD will have to be home educated wink

Am a bit clueless myself but I think the upshot is that they start school the September after they turn four.

In terms of state schools you need to apply for a place around the September after they turn three (I think). For public schools you usually need to register much earlier - from birth in some cases but asap in most (in my area anyway).

mankyscotslass Tue 13-Oct-09 16:43:27

I looked around when my eldest was about 3 1/2, the forms had to be back that November, and he had just started school nursery.

Legally they don't have to be in education til the term after their 5th birthday, but in practise most LEA's have now gone to a single intake in the September of the school year your ds will turn 5.

This meant that my eldest DS was 4 in the May and started school fulltime the following September. Some of his friends had turned 4 just weeks before starting school.

You can try to defer a year, but in reality this means your child will go straight into year 1 and mise reception altogether, as most LEa's will want the children with their cohorts.

titchy Tue 13-Oct-09 16:59:30

Assuming she'll be 3 before 1 Sep next year, you'll probably have to apply before the end of October next year.