Talk

Advanced search

What's a Y2 maths assessment? Dd came out of school in tears as couldn't do any of it ...

(56 Posts)
souvenir Wed 09-Sep-09 21:04:23

Message withdrawn

souvenir Wed 09-Sep-09 21:18:04

Message withdrawn

ICANDOTHAT Wed 09-Sep-09 21:20:04

How does she know it's a 'test' ? Surely they would just be given a numeracy worksheet to complete hmm Poor dd.

Feenie Wed 09-Sep-09 21:23:26

Could be anything, I'm afraid. I wouldn't e thought the teacher was starting practising SAT tests this early (if at all - it's crap practice, tbh).
Why not pop in and mention your dd found it difficult, and was upset? As an ex Y2 teacher I would definitely have wanted - and needed - to know this.

GossipMonger Wed 09-Sep-09 21:24:06

They are assessed ALL the time.

It will just so that the teacher can see where she is and help her from there.

No big deal. New class, new teacher.

I am a Y2 TA and we really do assess them constantly so am a bit surprised she even knew the word assessment as we call them quizzes!

souvenir Wed 09-Sep-09 21:24:14

Message withdrawn

souvenir Wed 09-Sep-09 21:25:58

Message withdrawn

Goblinchild Wed 09-Sep-09 21:26:59

It's probably to do with pupil tracking throughout the year. We assess in September, then again in May and see what the progress each individual has made. They are supposed to make one level progress in two years.
I'd make the point to your daughter that they want to see what she can do so that the teacher knows what she needs help with, and not to worry. No one will be cross or upset and all that will happen is the teacher will know what her particular needs are in Maths.
If she doesn't understand stuff, then she'll be getting support in class to help her reach a level 2b (national average for Y2 in May)

souvenir Wed 09-Sep-09 21:29:33

Message withdrawn

DameEdnaAverage Wed 09-Sep-09 21:32:26