Talk

Advanced search

So, how much of a pain is it to switch schools mid-year? Is it even possible?

(9 Posts)
BayeauxT Tue 28-Jul-09 14:13:07

Hi, excuse me as I am a newbie to school-related matters as I'm "foreign" so not sure how it works over here...

Bit of background: DD is starting reception in September, we have lived in our village for two years, renting, hoping to buy but in that time nothing decent has come onto the market! I thought I would just stick it out BUT - just seen a lovely house that has come on the market in another village in the area (with an excellent school) - so I am wondering how much of a PITA is it to switch to a new school in reception year. Is it likely they will even have a place for her, or will I have to wait till the next school year starts? (It's a very good school so I guess they are probably very popular...)

I am just so fed up of renting - just found out I am pg so I think the nesting instinct has kicked in!

LIZS Tue 28-Jul-09 15:06:33

It would be luck of the draw as to whether and when a place came up once the initial applications have been dealt with. How far is the house from the school she would start at, is it a feasible school run ?

mrz Tue 28-Jul-09 15:36:25

Children moving into the area after places have been allocated are classed as "exceptions" to the infant class size for the first school year

Fennel Tue 28-Jul-09 15:45:51

It varies with the LEA, my dds moved school twice midyear, in yr 1 and yr R and then again in yr 2 and yr 1. The second school was officially full but they were admitted straight away because it was basically the only local school when we moved for the second time. You need to find out what your LEA does for children moving mid-year, some areas are much more helpful on this than others. Find out if it has a policy for this. Ours did and it did make it easy, both times.

cat64 Tue 28-Jul-09 16:04:05

Message withdrawn

asdx2 Tue 28-Jul-09 16:35:31