Talk

Advanced search

Urgent: need help with primary appeal in Kent

(14 Posts)
Snowybird Mon 15-Jun-09 20:37:47

I am going before an appeal panel in Kent tomorrow for my twins (6).
The school's admission criteria are very clear: siblings, then distance.
However, the LEA just told me that these criteria only count during the initial allocation. Once it gets to appeal, the panel can decide to award the places however it wishes, depending on the "merits of the case".
This seems to be like a recipe for abuse and cronyism. I haven't toadied up to anyone for this.
What should I do? Should I ask the panel members immediately for clarification what the criteria are? Or should I try all and every decent argument (about five or six in total?) and let them decide which arguments they like?
THis is really important to me...any advice?
Thanks

ellingwoman Mon 15-Jun-09 20:59:32

I'm not an expert but there are no 'places' available at appeal time. Any places that are awarded are done so on individual cases so push the classes to 31, 32 etc depending on how many appeals are successful.

Does that make sense?

TripleTroubleMuffin Mon 15-Jun-09 21:00:53

Are you able to say which school it is?

Snowybird Mon 15-Jun-09 21:09:07

It's Amherst...

though I would say for benefit of anyone reading this that I have no reason to believe there's any cronyism, it's just the uncertainty that's making me nervous.

Ellingwoman, you are right, this is about increasing class size to 32, but then they do that every year.

TripleTroubleMuffin Mon 15-Jun-09 21:10:25

Oh, not my school then.

Sorry, can't help.

Good luck with the appeal.

Dalex Mon 15-Jun-09 21:11:54