Belmont Holmbury st Mary/Longacre

(4 Posts)
Arisaig1 Sat 03-Oct-20 18:02:51

Any views on these schools for a bright non sporty child. I want pastoral care but strong teaching and a good part to 11 plus academic (although not top tier like Kings/Hampton) secondary schools.

OP’s posts: |
HyperHippo Sat 03-Oct-20 22:06:44

Both have similar balance of strengths and weaknesses. Belmont is quite cosy, small and outdoorsy. It goes to 16 now so probably less focus on 11+, however much they say they still do prep for it.

Longacre is well liked. I personally wasn't sure on it when I looked around (I'm a teacher so saw things perhaps other parents wouldn't). It gets pupils into good schools at 11+. I found it a bit backwards in ways and lacking spark but that was partly personal opinion of what I like in a school.

If you are looking for tier below Hampton/Kings/RGS then I guess you are thinking of St John's, Reids, Freemans, Epsom? Perhaps look at Feltonfleet, Danes Hill, Ripley Court, Parkside, Millbourne Lodge, Aldro, Lanesborough, Edgeborough, Highfield & Brookham etc location depending? They all strongly feed into those academic schools.

Arisaig1 Sun 04-Oct-20 08:47:48

I have also heard good reports re L what were the backwards elements you were worried about? I’m keen fir access to Reigate Or St John’s Or possibly more my child is probably top quartile/third having had a profess run all view but lacks confidence. L dies seem to get kids into those 2nd tier and indeed first tier schools like RGS Guildford. Concerned B might be a bit less academically and the going to 16 is a concern. Lanesborough might be too much as I’ve heard it’s really for high flyers and you need to be in that competitive mode have heard pastoral care string there tho. V grateful for your views.

OP’s posts: |
HyperHippo Sun 04-Oct-20 18:42:29

I would go and look at longacre and decide for yourself.