Talk

Advanced search

Importance of holiday club at school?

(21 Posts)
rcat Fri 24-Nov-17 21:05:00

we have narrowed it to three schools as a preference for ds for next September but only one has both an after & before school club and a hol club

Dh works full time and I’m a SAHM but want to go back to work when ds2 is a bit older.

So is the hol club a big thing?Im new to this but it sounds far easier to have a familiar place for our ds during the hols if he needs it but dh thinks I’m silly.Its the education I should be worrying about according to him.All 3 of our preferences are good schools but am I being silly to worry about school hols so far ahead?

Is it worth choosing a school with the hol club?There seem to be a lot of hols.

Oblomov17 Fri 24-Nov-17 21:08:05

Not top priority. But quite an important aspect for me, actually. I have been very grateful that there was a holiday club at Ds1, and now ds2's Primary. Made a big difference to me, even though I only work 3 days.

rcat Fri 24-Nov-17 21:13:40

It seems important to me I’m scratching my head wondering what on Earth we would do with dcs over the hols.No family to help out and it would be an issue.

SparkleFizz Fri 24-Nov-17 21:15:03

I wouldn’t have a holiday club as a top priority when choosing a school.

But if the schools were more or less equal in other respects, and I was working (or planning on returning to work), then it’d definitely be something I’d consider.

Owletterocks Fri 24-Nov-17 21:16:17

There are lots of holiday type clubs that are not based in schools here. A lot of the nurseries run before and after school clubs and holiday clubs. It might be nice for them to get a break from the whole school environment. It wouldn't really have entered my mind to think about that as a reason to choose a school

shakemysilliesout Fri 24-Nov-17 21:18:34