Advanced search

funding building work at a primary school

(3 Posts)
manechanger Thu 29-Jun-17 11:18:42

Just trying to understand how schools fund building work. So I'm new to the PTA & we've raised ok money in the last couple of months. School want to get new play equipment which is great but it seems each item is much much more expensive than if I just google the cost. apparently it's because they want to use approved contractors. Please could someone explain how a (non academy) school is restricted by using approved contractors and whether there is any wriggle room??

We've got an item which costs about £400 being quoted at £3k plus installation. I understand the installation might not be done by any tom or dick but the supply as long as it meets standards doesn't make any sense to a lay person.

I don't want people to stop donating because we have inflated prices but don't want to be causing arguments with the SLT for no reason either.
Thanks very much.

admission Thu 29-Jun-17 12:04:09

I am afraid that this is an old problem that will never be sorted until schools are prepared to stand up and be counted. Maintained schools get a relatively a small amount of money each year for capital works. They are expected to in any financial decision consider best value, which should be not only price but quality of product and known information about the supplier as how they have performed on previous projects. If we are talking about say a £10K project then the school would be expected to get 3 quotes and then decide on best value.