Talk

Advanced search

Advice on North West London Preps please! (Alpha Prep, Holland House, Reddiford, Buckingham College Prep, Radlett Prep, MT Prep).

(8 Posts)
pineapple287 Fri 27-Jan-17 09:59:16

I have recently been considering Prep School for my DS. I would really prefer a small friendly school with strong academic results along with good music and sporting opportunities.

Does anyone have any first hand experience of the schools listed above? I am particularly keen to know more about Alpha prep (closest school to me) and how it might compare to Holland House or Radlett Prep.

Any advice on admission criteria and difficulty would be greatly appreciated.
How hard is it to get into MT prep at 4+ and is there any way to prepare for this? (I've heard it is very tough!).

Thanks in advance for your replies!

RoccoW14 Fri 27-Jan-17 19:29:12

I have no experience with any of those schools, however have just gone through the 4+ process with my daughter for (very) competitive West London school entry.

Honestly, to an extent, I think it's a bit of a lottery. Kids of that age can be so unpredictable. On a good day they can shine and on a not so good day..

There are plenty of good recommendations online for 4+ assessment, however the specific skills / attitude / personality that each school is looking for is a mystery.

In summary:

- read lots of books; ask questions about them
- colouring in
- scissor technique
- writing name
- recognising letters
- drawing with detail (doors, windows, roof on a house; facial features, clothes, shoes on a person etc.)
- jigsaws
- patterns / sequences

I think it's really about exposing your son to as many early years skills as possible, over a long period of time and on a consistent basis, and crossing your fingers and hoping for the best.