Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Pupil Premium Criteria

(9 Posts)
allmixedupreally Fri 13-Jan-17 19:16:22

If ds was on Free school meals during 2012-2015 - reception to end of year two. Does that mean he is still pupil premium if he is no longer FSM? - I've heard it's for 6 years after receiving fsm -

BetweenTwoLungs Fri 13-Jan-17 19:21:40

Yes , he is under the 'ever 6' category meaning he has had FSM in the past.

mrz Fri 13-Jan-17 19:54:46

If he received FSM because of the universal offer for all reception and KS1 pupils no he isn't eligible for pupil premium if you claimed it because you were in receipt of relevant benefits he will be classed as "ever 5" for pupil premium

allmixedupreally Fri 13-Jan-17 21:03:05

Ok he received it as I was a single parent student at the time - not the universal under 7 fsm policy. When would the pp end ?
Mrz - ds takes violin lessons and I am struggling a bit to meet the cost - could I ask the school if his pp could be used for this ?

allmixedupreally Fri 13-Jan-17 21:23:39

And lastly he moved school in December will the new school get it for this academic year?

RueDeWakening Fri 13-Jan-17 22:43:24

My DD's clarinet lessons are funded by her PP - she gets FSM currently though, and it was at the discretion of the school.

CarterUSM Fri 13-Jan-17 23:48:06

Lone parent here too. DD is Yr2 and ever 6. Although I have been working since about 6 weeks into reception year, the PP funding from ever 6 has been a real godsend because I am still earning a relatively low wage.

Because she is ever 6 the school subsidise (I.e. cover the costs for) the following:
All sports clubs at school (she does 4)
Music tuition (she's learning violin)

I would say it's definitely worth asking school about the music lesson costs. I think it's done on a school by school basis but there is no way my DD could access these extra curricular opps if I had to pay the full amount for them all.