Talk

Advanced search

What to expect - first parents evening- Reception

(12 Posts)
mankyscotslass Wed 21-Feb-07 11:48:26

It's our first proper parents evening next week, we have a 5 minute slot with our DS's teacher. We had a "meet the teacher" in october, but as he had only been at school 3 weeks it was a bit of a hello & have a look around.
So what should I expect? What questions to ask? Other than the obvious social skills ones? Any suggestions, please...we are total novices! It's seems to have flown past since he started school!

tia

nailpolish Wed 21-Feb-07 11:51:14

its just a chit chat about everything - they dont say "oh jonny cant write his name yet" or anything specific

its just to see whether they are settled, are preparing for P1 alright, etc

wotzsaname Wed 21-Feb-07 11:52:45

chit chat, dont expect too much, i normally got feedback on how well they could draw picutres and sing!

Sometimes less is more at this stage.

Hulababy Wed 21-Feb-07 11:54:56

We had a general chat about DD and how she had settled in, what she was enjoying and the things she had done. We saw her class books and some of her art work etc. Had feedback from her blalet and music teachers. All very positive and encouraging,

mankyscotslass Wed 21-Feb-07 11:56:08

OOOh good, we like our teacher, DH is scared of the other reception class one! It will be nice to get a different perpective on ds...we think he is an angel of course

PussyWillow Wed 21-Feb-07 13:55:20

With dd i went in armed with the Foundation Stage profile and talked about the bits she had not yet achieved and how we could help her.

With ds it will be much more about how he fits in emotionally and socially with the group, but also I will try to get the teacher to give him some moe challenging reading books (some hope - she has managed to avoid it for a term so far!)