Talk

Advanced search

KEY stage 1 maths. Does your dc use a number line / counters for addition?

(13 Posts)
Frusso Sun 30-Oct-16 11:18:23

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

AuntieStella Sun 30-Oct-16 11:19:27

IIRC, mine used number lines

MissClarke86 Sun 30-Oct-16 11:22:08

Year 1 is practical moving into counting on mentally.

Year 2 is counting on mentally (up to 100) and using other written methods - we teach them the tens and ones practically using equipment, then they draw the tens and ones to add them, then they move on to column addition.

Some can do it mentally because they see the pattern quickly this way.

They also learn to do things like add multiples of 10 mentally and quickly by looking for patterns.

I'm a year 2 teacher. Google the 2016 KS1maths arithmetic test to see the expectation (they are allowed no equipment but may record with pencil).

The best thing you can do to move them on is do LOTS of counting forwards and backwards, starting on different numbers.

Feenie Sun 30-Oct-16 12:54:37

However, Y2 teachers are required to give a final teacher assessment, of which the test is a very small part. Teachers must use the Interim Framework for Assesment which does not match the test, which is incredibly annoying - it states that using apparatus is fine and matches age related expectations.

www.gov.uk/government/publications/2017-interim-frameworks-for-teacher-assessment-at-the-end-of-key-stage-1

MissClarke86 Sun 30-Oct-16 12:58:15

Feenie, very true. We were not moderated last year so but I'd still be very reluctant to put a child at "age related" if they were nowhere near on the SATs arithmetic. Frustrating and clearly mismatched.