Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Question re phonics teaching in Yr 1

(14 Posts)
Jhm9rhs Wed 04-Nov-15 09:49:28

Hello!
I'm a frequent reader here, but this is my first post, so please be gentle grin.

I have twins who are in Year 1. Both can read reasonably well (they each bring home turquoise level books from school).

Obviously it's early in the year, but I have been wondering about the phonics screening in June, since the HT mentioned in the year induction meeting that the school's pass rate this summer wasn't very high.

I gave them the past papers to do last night and they enjoyed them and both passed but only just, with 34 and 35.

So my question (I'm pretty clueless) is this - will they have been taught all the required sound/letter combinations at this stage in Yr 1, or will some new ones still be covered between now and the screening?

Thank you for any insight x

irvine101 Wed 04-Nov-15 13:23:21

I'm no expert, but if they got 34 and 35 now and reading turquoise books,
I think you don't need to worry about it so much.
If you have particular worry, have a chat with the teacher, otherwise, don't worry.
It's only November, and they are doing great. smile

Nearlycaughtawoozle Wed 04-Nov-15 13:32:01

Pass rate in previous years has been 32. Your twins are obviously doing well. The rest covers sounds from phase 2-5 in Letters and Sounds most of which will have been introduced by now

www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/190599/Letters_and_Sounds_-_DFES-00281-2007.pdf

Nearlycaughtawoozle Wed 04-Nov-15 13:32:28

Rest=test

Jhm9rhs Wed 04-Nov-15 15:43:25