Any primary school teachers here?

(14 Posts)
MrsChiefTyrell Fri 17-Jul-15 21:34:05

Hello.

I'm seriously considering training as a primary school teacher, something I've always wanted to do but for various reasons have never been able to.

I'm ready to go back to work part time next year (although it will obviously take me quite a while longer to study and train) and full time in 3 years time and I really do think that this is the right option for me as a long term career.

However, I do not have a degree. I have researched a little online and from what I can see I need to have at least a 2:1 and then do a PGCE which takes 1 year full time. Is this correct?

As I do not have a degree as yet I plan on studying and working part time (my partner works so we have a family income) perhaps studying with the Open University. Does it matter what my degree is in? Does it need to be a academic subject like Biology or English Literature or could it be in "Early Years Education" or perhaps even Childhood and Youth Studies?

Lastly, I will be 35 by the time I have completed my degree and the PGCE- is this really unusually old for a NQT? Am I going to find it too hard to gain employment at the end of it all?

Thank you and any advice is very much appreciated.

spanieleyes Fri 17-Jul-15 21:42:21

Yes, you do need a degree and, whilst relevant curriculum subjects are useful they are not a necessity-unlike in secondary teaching, a good degree in childhood studies would stand you in good stead too. You can get onto a PGCE ( a one year course) with a 2.2 but a 2.1 or higher would give you an advantage ( and a bursary!!)
As to your age, I was 43 when I qualified, 35 is nothing!!

Galena Fri 17-Jul-15 21:55:52

What about a BEd?

RafaIsTheKingOfClay Fri 17-Jul-15 22:24:54

There were plenty of students in their 40s and 50s on my BEd. And a fair number in their late 20s and 30s. Nobody will bat an eyelid at you being 35 as an NQT.

MrsChiefTyrell Fri 17-Jul-15 22:28:44