Talk

Advanced search

Any need for parent helpers YR6?

(13 Posts)
MrsChiefTyrell Fri 10-Jul-15 22:12:47

Strange situation. My son is about to leave year 6. His teacher has been excellent and is really a great teacher.

I am studying a childhood and youth degree and now need to be volunteering or working in a school one day a week for the next part of my course.

I was thinking of contacting her teacher and asking if he needs a volunteer parent helper fr next school year one day or two half days a week. I have a clean DBS and have done it before reading with the chikdren, wall displays, crafts and cooking in small groups plus all the general photocopy and tidying up.

Will he find this really weird that I'm offering to help after she has left?
They have a TA but only one for 3 classes. Do teachers in Year ) want or have any need for parent volunteers? Are you a yr 5 or 6 teacher? Would this be of any help to you?

I just don't want to put him in a situation of feeling awkward and declining. I'm thinking of emailing him about this for this reason too.

Thanks.

TheTroubleWithAngels Fri 10-Jul-15 22:21:35

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

MrsChiefTyrell Fri 10-Jul-15 22:38:24

Thanks for the reply.

No, I don't need anything from the teacher or the school- no observations or assessments or anything like that. They don't need to be involved in any way- I just need to be volunteering in a classroom and sign to say I have and also so I can use various situations as examples in a couple of my written assessments. One day a week is easy for me, I'm a SAHM and only part time studying.

We have another week or so left. I haven't asked until now as I feel a little awkward, well, that he might think it's odd I'm offering to be a parent helper once I'll no longer be a parent of his class! smile I could choose another school but I know this schoo and its local and I'd quite like to be able to give something back as they've been great for us.