Advanced search

students that I tutor making absolutely no progress!

(26 Posts)
bananacarnival Sun 01-Feb-15 16:24:10

I'm despairing here. In a nutshell, I've been a primary school teacher for many years and have worked quite high up in education but am beginning to question my ability to teach!

Recently I've acquired about 7 new students (for private tuition) who have been brought to me by parents who desperately want their children to be able to write well (concerns raised by schools etc).

Limited vocabulary is the main problem here. All of the students communicate in their mother tongue at home. The school that they attend isn't the best of schools (trying to be tactful here!) so they're not picking up much in terms of vocabulary from their peers. Reading, despite my insisting that they aim for at least one chapter every night, is limited plus they're struggling with my recommendations.

I've asked each child what they're watching on TV, it's mostly things like Tiny Pop, American teen type - high school musical etc..Ben 10... these are children aged 8 and below and I'm making mental comparisons with the sort of TV my DC watch (similar age).

During the sessions, I guide them through their writing. Lots of emphasis on thesaurus work and sentence structure - adding clauses/adverbs/replacing the verb etc. Endless amounts of writing practice given each week. A new word for each day. Audio cds. Recommended tv (Blue Peter, newsround, Wildlife documentaries etc) Lots of practice around replacing overused words with better alternatives...the list goes on!

I do feel like giving up at times. I just look at their writing and wonder where on earth I go from here. I've stressed to all the parents that a one hour tutoring session with me in the week is not going to change their child's vocabulary and ability to write well unless they are exposed to good spoken English throughout the week in addition to what I do.