Talk

Advanced search

Advice on applying for a reception place?

(22 Posts)
MsFiremanSam Mon 03-Nov-14 22:01:04

Hi,
I will be applying for DS to start school next September, and I'm new to this whole process. We live in between two schools - one Outstanding and one which has just come out of Measures. For many reasons, we prefer the former, but are about 100 yards nearer to the latter.
Is there any obligation to put down your nearest school? All the schools around us are over-subscribed, so we're worried about being sent miles away.
I've had conflicting advice IRL, from definitely put it down to hold out for your school of choice and refuse to go anywhere else.
Any advice hugely appreciated!

whyhasmyheadgonenumb Mon 03-Nov-14 22:02:34

Marking place, in similar situation

cece Mon 03-Nov-14 22:03:02

Put both of them on the form. Put the one you like best first. Are they your two nearest schools?

Picturesinthefirelight Mon 03-Nov-14 22:04:42

Put the schools down in your order of preference but try & put at least one safe choice down as its better to be allocated a weaker school
Closer to home than a weaker school miles away.

MsFiremanSam Mon 03-Nov-14 22:12:22

They are our two nearest. I really am not keen at all on the weaker school though. There are at least 4 other schools in the area I'd choose over that one.
I'm worried that if I put the weaker one down, we'll definitely get it because it's the only one not over-subscribed.
What would happen if we put 5 schools down which didn't include that one?

Picturesinthefirelight Mon 03-Nov-14 22:15:30

How many choices do you get (in our area it's 3 but I know in some its more)

Put you favourite school as no 1, the further away ones in your order of preference and then the very close but weaker school as your last choice

That way you will only be offered the last one if you don't get a place at any of the others.

admission Mon 03-Nov-14 22:17:23