Talk

Advanced search

Anyone have any experience of St Albans High School for Girls prep (Wheathampstead House)?

(17 Posts)
greenicecream Mon 03-Nov-14 21:52:46

We recently attended an open day at the High School and were impressed, so are probably going to register our daughter for the 4+ assessments taking place in the new year. Just wondering if anyone had any recent experience of the prep school - or indeed of the assessments.

We are not applying for any other independent schools as have good state schools nearby (though they all have shrinking catchments!) and even if we were to be offered a place we may reject it in favour of our allocated maintained primary. Does anyone know if many state school educated children join the main STAHS at 11?

Thanks in advance.

ReallyTired Tue 04-Nov-14 09:42:19

Bump!

I have no experience of the school but the girls I have met from that school have all been lovely children.

I would like to send my daughter there if we won the lottery.

greenicecream Tue 04-Nov-14 13:24:24

thanks reallytired! The lack of a lottery win is one of the main reasons we may have to turn a place down even if we were to be offered it smile

greenicecream Tue 04-Nov-14 19:14:57

bump

TheWordFactory Tue 04-Nov-14 19:23:18

STAHs is a good day school.

It does take state schooled applicants at 11, but the entrance exam is quite stiff as there is a lot of competition and first dibbs go to girls at WH.

That said, they do weed out any underperforming WH girls. There is also another cull at 16.

There's a lot of talk that it's an academic hothouse, but the girls there do plenty of sport and drama too.