Talk

Advanced search

Friendships - thoughts both as Parents or as Teachers

(23 Posts)
BeaLola Wed 19-Mar-14 23:57:28

I have DS 6 who is only child. Goes to local school and doing well. Has friends, is popular but does not have best friend that he is joined at hip with iykwim. Is friendly with both boys and girls.

I am not overly concerned that he does not have bestest friend after all he has years of schooling ahead of him to get one, if he did I may not like
them (!), if he did and they fell out/they moved could be very upsetting or could have distanced himself from. Others in class.

My DH is more concerned , maybe because he was an only child ? He is getting more worried about it.

What do you think and why ?

TIA

Jaynebxl Thu 20-Mar-14 04:41:45

I don't think many children actually have a best friend, do they? Neither of mine do. They habe a few pretty good friends which I reckon is healthier / safer.

stripes1 Thu 20-Mar-14 05:14:08

As a teacher I wouldn't be worried. As long as he plays with lots of different children as you suggest. I think girls of that age are more likely to have a 'best friend' and it often ends in tears when they change 'best friends'!

Hoppinggreen Thu 20-Mar-14 08:08:19

I was worried about my son at preschool as he didn't seem to have the same types of close friendships my daughter had at that age.
His ps teacher told me that while girls tend to walk round holding hands and playing role play games boys tend to just play in tandem or run around together.
He s in Reception now and he is very sociable but his best friend seems to change depending on who he has been playing with that day whereas DD has had the same one for 6 years.

redskyatnight Thu 20-Mar-14 09:22:28