Talk

Advanced search

Some advice please

(6 Posts)
lifeissobusy Wed 12-Mar-14 09:31:34

HI All

I am after some advice as I have a meeting with DD's teacher soon. I have several concerns:-
1) She finished Yr2 as 2A for all subjects (she did do level 3 papers in sats but those results were never given out or discuss despite me asking). Yr3 she end with 3C+ and now half way through Yr4 she is 3b. Am I right to be worried about her progress?
2) Ever year since reception her school report mentioned that "she lacks confidence academically" and that she finds concentrating for long periods challenging. In Yr3 I had a meeting with the teacher and asked what she was doing to help her with these areas and her reply and I kid you not was "I have been teaching for 40 years so do not tell me how to do my job and your DD will learn these skills!" Fast forward to year 4 half term report mentions exactly the same thing so at parents evening we brought it up and the teacher said she would give it some thought and get back to us. Nothing has come back as yet but I have asked for the meeting so we can discuss this. Is it the teachers job role to make sure that DD is feeling confident in her learning?
3) After half term my DD looked at me and cried as she didn't want to go back to school. It made me remember my education which was really bad and I hate school and as a result I didn't do well. Is DD at risk of being the same?
Any advice gratefully received.

PastSellByDate Wed 12-Mar-14 14:42:34

First off lifeissobusy - have a look at this page from MN on progress through NC levels (www.mumsnet.com/learning/assessment/progress-through-national-curriculum-levels) - the table at the bottom of that page shows that for a notional 'average' child NC L3b is expected progress at end of Y4.

So my advice is that what you should be starting out with is a feeling that your child is doing o.k. - not great - but o.k. - she's where she should be.

-----------