Talk

Advanced search

WHAT?? Only 1% of packed lunches meet "food standards"??

(36 Posts)
LeonardWentToTheOffice Mon 03-Mar-14 19:28:31

One Show just now - a bold claim made by one of the men in the piece (sorry didn't catch name) but I am absolutely flabbergasted and totally disbelieving of his claim. He provided no evidence and I haven't looked into this further but I just think he made it up (possibly hmm )

Total disclaimer - I'm not a food expert but I am a mum.

Piece was about all infant children getting free school meals from September. This claim was made in response to the question what would you say to parents who think they can provide a good packed lunch for their children.

Snowdown Mon 03-Mar-14 19:36:08

I agree - where does this 1% come from and how is it compared to the school dinner that is actually served and consumed. Maybe a job for Tim at More or Less, radio 4?

LeonardWentToTheOffice Mon 03-Mar-14 19:36:58

It can't be just me that thinks they can provide a good packed lunch for their child. Am I really one of the hallowed 1% or am I deluded? For my ds(11) and from what I see from ds's school yes some really healthy food is on offer to the children but do they actually choose it or eat it??

Ours offers salads, jacket potatoes, veg (cubed - yuk) fruit and variety of mains. Many children opt for the jacket potato and just pick the cheeesy bit off the top. Don't take any salad or fruit but have one of the scrummy puds on offer.

If I pack ds up I can pack him a balance of foods he will like and more importantly I know exactly what he's eaten or it comes home in the box. This way I can insure he gets his veg, dairy, protein etc.

He's not a fussy eater but he's like me. Doesn't like eating off prison trays, can't bear drinking water out of glasses that smell

FrogbyAnotherName Mon 03-Mar-14 19:47:27

If they are referring to food safety standards, then they are probably correct.