Talk

Advanced search

Reading age tests - what's their purpose / how do teachers use the results?

(9 Posts)
pochemuchka2 Thu 06-Feb-14 21:32:46

I am referring to a sentence reading test, not a single word reading test, nor one that tests comprehension (possibly Salfords?).

DD's teacher advised it shows progress, but doesn't moving up the book bands, and responses to comprehension questions do that just as well, if not better. Is there any advantage, benefit, use, to this type of test?

Also if there are no comprehension questions, shouldn't they be called decoding tests?

Sorry, I know it's dull, but I just want to know if I've missed a sound reason for bothering with this sort of test!

youhavetogothroughit Fri 07-Feb-14 10:42:34

Well, I am no expert but DS has been tested on these types of tests a few times (at least 4 times that I know of!). One of these tests, the Suffolk reading scale, does link directly to NC levels and certainly where SiL teaches (at a state school in suffolk coincidentally) they are used for NC levels in KS1 and KS2, with a high degree of accuracy, according to her.

DS is tested annually on a new NFER/GL test which uses these sentence type questions to guage reading age and then this determines appropriate texts and questions to assess comprehension and NC level.

So, to answer your question, these sentence completion questions do give a fairly good idea of comprehension, they draw on inference skills and are not about just decoding. The sentences have to make sense!

pochemuchka2 Fri 07-Feb-14 16:21:01

Thank you Youhaveto. DDs test was just reading sentences, not completing sentences that are questions. What you describe clearly tests comprehension as you won't get the correct answer if you don't understand what you've read.