Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

teacher spelling

(8 Posts)
thegreylady Sun 14-Apr-13 15:30:02

I know this has been done before but may I ask anyway?
I was a teacher, my dd is a teacher too. Just at the end of term dd went to parents' evening for dgs [Y1].
He is doing really well but the target the teacher stressed most was spelling. Dgs spelling isn't great eg.skiye for sky and taim for tame but the teacher had left those and corrected his spelling of horizon to horizen which is of course wrong.
Dd didn't say anything as there were other parents near by and she didn't want to embarrass the teacher [who is lovely] but the dc are back at school tomorrow and she is wondering whether to mention it.I said she should but she isn't sure-wwyd?

MoaningYoniWhingesAgain Sun 14-Apr-13 15:47:25

If it is a one off I would ignore it TBH even though it would bother me a lot

But if it was a regular thing I would definitely mention it. I suspect that 'taim' and skiye' were not corrected because they are reasonable attempts to spell phonetically.

mrz Sun 14-Apr-13 16:04:43

The sounds in horizon are spelt in a fairly straightforward way, (h-or-i-z-o-n) whereas in sky there are alternative ways to represent the sounds /k/ and /ie/ which he may not have learnt yet. In tame it is possible he hasn't been taught the split spelling a-e representation for the sound /ai/. The teacher is correcting words he should be able to spell and leaving those containing representations he may not have been taught .

LynetteScavo Sun 14-Apr-13 16:11:22

mrz, the teacher corrected horizon to horiz*e*n.

I agree, if it was a one off don't say anything, but keep a close eye on it.

mrz Sun 14-Apr-13 16:30:32

blush

Periwinkle007 Sun 14-Apr-13 19:48:54