Talk

Advanced search

year 1 parents evening - what concrete info can i reasonably expect?

(18 Posts)
swallowedAfly Mon 12-Nov-12 13:43:35

ds's parents evening is coming up. last year (reception) was all very fluffy and vague understandably.

this year i would like to know what level ds is reading at - perhaps even some levels for numeracy and literacy.

is this reasonable? what can i ask to get specific information about how ds is doing other than 'ahhh he's a lovely boy, he's really bright' etc?

do they still do reading ages? are we onto NC levels yet?

thanks.

swallowedAfly Mon 12-Nov-12 13:49:14

just to add i'm an ex-secondary school teacher so have ideas and expectations in my head of what teachers should be offering information wise but don't know how this translates to primary school. to my mind they should be able to tell me how he is doing in the context of wider scales of achievement and they should be giving me/him specific targets of what to improve upon and how. you know? measurable attainment info and targets.

i am a nightmare parent due to having been a teacher or am i reasonable in my expectations?

really grateful for any feedback you can offer. must admit i find this teacher a nightmare i helped in her class once a couple of years ago before ds started there and was horrified by the lack of planning, the total absence of keeping kids on task and her lack of.... 'switched on'ness and general knowledge.

kind of dreading sitting down with her and want to make sure i'm reasonable and don't let my lack of confidence and faith in her show.

Houseworkprocrastinator Mon 12-Nov-12 13:55:31

i got "lovely, well behaved, bright and doing well" nothing specific apart from a couple of targets.

heliotrope Mon 12-Nov-12 14:03:23