Talk

Advanced search

Younger children not allowed at school events...?

(44 Posts)
Wigeon Wed 07-Nov-12 14:28:03

My DD1 has just started Reception, so I am new to this school malarky.

There have been two letters home recently which say that younger siblings are not allowed at two events: the Reception Christmas assemblies (held at 9:05am on a weekday), which are essentially their nativity play, and a "reading and writing session", also being held at 9:05am on a weekday.

No creche is being provided.

Is this usual? What do other primary schools do?

Anyone I might ask to look after DD2 is either going to be at work, or is probably going to be attending these events themselves. And our families live an hour away, so it's not at all straightforward to find someone to have her.

Floralnomad Wed 07-Nov-12 14:31:07

That was the case where mine went to school and TBH it's a good thing as some people just let their smaller ones cry / scream / run about through the whole thing and ruin it for everyone else .

Seeline Wed 07-Nov-12 14:33:22

Fairly normal at ours too. It's not fair on 4/5 year olds trying to remember what they have to do with someones baby brother or sister screaming its head off, or someones toddler running amongst them (which does happen).
Also it can be a space thing - school halls aren't very big and by the time you've got all the parents in there isn't much space for buggies as well.

EldonAve Wed 07-Nov-12 14:36:23

Normal at ours but the PTA now runs a creche

EdithWeston Wed 07-Nov-12 14:36:35

It only takes one small audience member's few seconds of disruption to completely throw a nervous reception performer who has been building up to Her Line for several weeks. Seeing a child on stage dissolve for that reason, even when it's not your DC, is heartbreaking.