Talk

Advanced search

Reading in reception- am I being pfb?

(17 Posts)
Pozzled Wed 07-Nov-12 07:49:38

I suspect the answer might be 'yes', in which case I will be glad to stop worrying!

DD1 started reception with a few key skills mastered. Certainly not a reader, but able to read cvc words, and have a go at longer words if phonetically 'regular'.

I'm doing a lot of work with her at home (I'm a ks2 teacher) and she's making good progress. My concern is that the school don't seem to be recognising where she is, or moving her on at all- she had homework for the first time, which was practising sounds like 's' 'm' 't' which she's known for months.

Also, they're not using a synthetic phonics approach- they use ERR and she was also sent some high frequency words to learn, some of which were 'tricky'. I end up teaching her the alternate sounds (e.g. she was given the word 'he' so I taught her that it's 'h' 'ee' and that we, she, me, be are the same.)

But I feel like the school should be doing this with her.
Do I need to chill out a bit?

scarlettsmummy2 Wed 07-Nov-12 07:55:06

I am on scotland, is reception p1 or is it still nursery?

Pozzled Wed 07-Nov-12 07:57:29

P1 I think.

Pozzled Wed 07-Nov-12 08:00:52

I mean it's the first year of school, not nursery.

scarlettsmummy2 Wed 07-Nov-12 08:02:58

In that case it would not be unreasonable for them to be doing a bit more, although I am sure others would disagree.

lljkk Wed 07-Nov-12 08:04:54

I think you should talk with the child's teachers about their plan for teaching literacy.

Cat98 Wed 07-Nov-12 09:32:37