Talk

Advanced search

In-year application stuff consuming every waking moment - words of encouragement pls

(8 Posts)
notsoperfect33 Mon 01-Oct-12 13:19:44

I'm new to mumsnet, although I have been a passive viewer for a while. We have 2 DC's currently in independent school DS1 Y3 and DS2 Reception. Due to both my husband and my work positions significantly changing this year we have had to make the hard decision to take them both out and put them into state school.

We are not weathly by any stretch, but liked the school we chose and at the time could afford the fees with little sacrifice. Although we know this decision will devestate DS1 who is very settled, happy and thriving, financially it is just not doable anymore.

Initially both DH and me felt a big sense of relief in making this decision until we realised that getting into a school of even mediocre standard would be hard. So far the LEA (inner London) has not been very helpful and of course all of the schools I have seen that are good have huge waiting lists. I have been very proactive in checking which schools have places, but it seems to be 1 step forward and 2 steps back!

We have given the current school provisional notice as we really do need them to leave by the end of the year and this is like a ticking time bomb in my head. The only way we can keep them in the current school is if I find a job before the end of the year (currently self employed), another added pressure.

Sorry a long post, but I could do with some support from anyone who has faced this situation and come through the other side.

BranchingOut Mon 01-Oct-12 13:24:39

Hi, I didn't want to read and not post, as you seem pretty worried.

There are lots of parents on here who have had experience of both state and private education, so should be able to help.