Talk

Advanced search

Good non-religious, mixed primary school in London

(14 Posts)
MommyMaggie Mon 25-Jun-12 13:52:22

I'm looking for a good primary school for my two boys (in a couple of years) and I wonder if you, mums and dads, know of any. The only criteria I can think of right now are:

1. The school should be in London. We are happy to move wherever we need to within London, in order to give the kids a good education.

2. We do not want any religious school. In other words no prayers, no church activities, no religious guidance in any way.

3. It should be a mixed gender school.

I'm new to the UK and I don't know what else to think about, when choosing a school in England. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

EdithWeston Mon 25-Jun-12 13:57:55

All state school are required by law to hold an act of collective worship which is broadly Christian in character (some have exemptions to allow for a different majority religion, but the need for an assembly remains).

How this is put into practice varies between schools, or indeed within schools over time (eg new head).

You would have to look to the private sector to find a school which has no religious input (beyond RE on the curriculum, which I think is pretty much universal, as it is required by the national curriculum, and a standard part of the timetable in the private sector).

noramum Mon 25-Jun-12 16:11:33

I agree with the other poster. DD is in a non-religious school in an outer London borough and like all other non-religious schools in our "catchment" area there is a certain amount of religious education. We don't have daily prayer but they celebrate Christmas, the head spoke about why we celebrate Easter and they use the local Church to have several celebrations.

I think it would be hard to find a state school fitting your requirement.

pinkdelight Mon 25-Jun-12 16:25:55