Talk

Advanced search

End of term teacher gift: cupcakes? Teacher advice welcome!

(43 Posts)
Waswondering Tue 19-Jun-12 20:50:47

(BTW I've read the other thread in AIBU re teacher gifts).

Ds finishes the school year next week and has had a really fabulous teacher this year. She is into baking, and ds really wants to give her cupcakes as a wee present.

I don't "know" her very well so don't know if she's immediately heading off on hols or what.

My question is - as a teacher, what would you think of receiving cupcakes:
- Homemade (I we could bake something together)
- Bought from posh stall in shopping centre and boxed (would you feel "safer" getting that?)
- Or get her a bottle of wine?

TIA ...

DrSeuss Tue 19-Jun-12 21:19:14

I am a teacher and a parent. DS's teacher is getting a cupcake bouquet, made by me. As a teacher, I would be fine with cupcakes. I would look at the mum, see if she looked OK and then eat them. I have taught kids whose mum's cooking I would give a wide berth but I think you sound like you understand food hygiene!

Waswondering Tue 19-Jun-12 21:39:21

Thanks DrS .....

smile

Waswondering Tue 19-Jun-12 21:42:04

Hmmm.

next question ....

how many? 4 or 6 or the full 12?

AFAIK it's just teacher and her dh (who the class has met).

DrSeuss Tue 19-Jun-12 21:53:06

Last year I gave 12, chocolate, box from ebay, sparkly glitter all over the place. Teacher was delighted. Christmas was chocolate pizzas, also well received.

juniper904 Tue 19-Jun-12 22:21:00

I'm normally a bit confused about home made things. You just never know whose little fingers have been where!

I love home made things, but if I'm going to be ingesting it, wine is the way for me! My immune system is crap, though.

cece Tue 19-Jun-12 22:24:00

I am intending on boxing up some homemade rocky road for the huge amount of teachers, TAs, nursery teachers, childminders and coaches this year. I make the recipe from Nigella and it is yummy.

Matesnotdates Tue 19-Jun-12 22:31:31