Talk

Advanced search

teachers & education people, what do you think of Nessy learning programme

(8 Posts)
slacklucy Fri 23-Mar-12 18:20:53

Our school wants the PTA to buy the Nessy learning programme.
They have said that it is something that will be used by all year groups & for children where everything else has failed & they just arent getting it.

Whats your feedback please, is it any good? Worth the money?
Or is it something that in 6 months time will be dusty in the software library.

We are happy to fund ITC if it can be used by the majority or an identified need for a group of students but in either case we would prefer to fund something that is ging to be an imbedded part of classroom learning.

Any info good or bad much appreciated

sarahfreck Fri 23-Mar-12 19:15:38

I am a tutor and I use the full Nessy learning programme a lot.

I like it and use it loads but I would say the following:

It is aimed at ages 7+, it can be used for children in Year 2, but Year 1 might be too young for it.

It does need to be used in a way that plans and integrates with the rest of the phonics teaching, You can't, in my opinion, just send a child off to "do Nessy". It could be managed/supervised by a TA but would need a teacher to decide/plan what parts an individual child should do as part of a structured phonics intervention.

Children love the games and earning nuggets to spend on the "fair" but the games could get boring if they are doing them too often. If they are doing them in every year, I think they would get fed-up with them.

The "fair" needs supervising so that student don't just waste time there. I only let my students go to the fair when they have earned 100 nuggets. In fact I think children could "waste" a fair amount of time not doing anything constructive, if they were left to do Nessy unsupervised.