Talk

Advanced search

Supply teachers! Over here please!

(9 Posts)
CeliaFate Mon 31-Oct-11 12:58:46

I'm starting supply work soon. I've been teaching for nearly 20 years, had a career break and am now getting back into it.
Can you give me some good tips for websites, books and general resources that you find helpful please?

DejaWho Mon 31-Oct-11 14:04:00

Don't rely on everything you have needing photocopier - sometimes it would be easier getting blood from a stone than the code for the photocopier! Sometimes you get to a school too late to be able to use one anyway (gotta love 8.45 am calls). I've got a few lessons I can do with just a story book to start from (I carry a few of these - they're probably the resource I use the most) and paper to write on - means I've got a failsafe to start the day off with while I scrabble resources together for subsequent lessons or play hunt the planning file.

Most bookings I get the work's planned for anyway - very rare I get unplanned days. The things I use more are the time filler type activities - when work's left that they woosh through ("design a poster" I'm looking at YOU) - so it's things like "I'm thinking of a number with X digits, that's even, a multiple of...", elevens, apple pie type stuff, or quick problems on whiteboards, or stuff like that.