Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Streaming/Setting - Does your school do it? Are you pro or anti?

(45 Posts)
ButWhyIsTheGinGone Tue 04-Oct-11 18:30:16

Hello all,
Am just curious to hear from others on the subject of setting. I am a teacher of 5 years and am currently teaching my hair out with a particularly wide ranging class - in Literacy ranging from P scales (pre-level 1) up to level 5. And it's not just the case of an average class with one or two exceptions either end - they're a right mixed bunch!
I have wondered for the last couple of years whether streaming might not benefit everyone. It means those who are more able could be allowed to progress at an accelerated rate whilst those who struggle could be given more of the support they need. Obviously, I differentiate to the absolute best of my ability, but during the "input" part of the lesson I'm sometimes aware I'm gonig over some kids' heads or not stretching others.
Does your school do this? DO people think there's still a stigma attached to setting? Any thoughts/opinions would be interesting!

Iamnotminterested Tue 04-Oct-11 18:41:51

I think it is a good idea PROVIDING there can be movement between sets.

reallytired Tue 04-Oct-11 18:42:22

Streaming in having seperate classes for high and low achieving children only happens in large primary schools

I thought that virtually all primary schools use setting. Ie. grouping by ablity for maths, English and science. In my son's class some children are high achievers in maths, but find English harder and vica a versa. For example my son is in the top group for English, but the second from top group for swimming. My son's class has a very bright EAL child who is very good at maths, but is still learning English. It is important that grouping is flexible and groupings are reviewed. My son class has several tables which are the same standard where children get seperated for social reasons.