Talk

Advanced search

The Reception year - what do you want for your child?

(26 Posts)
mrscraig Sun 02-Oct-11 19:31:38

I am a Reception teacher - was previously in Year One, haven't taught Reception for about 9 years so feeling bit out of touch at mo plus I have OFSTED looming so lots of pressure! I would really like to know what you, as parents or teachers, want for your child in Reception in terms of learning/development/opportunities..... I am going to put this to the parents in my class this week but wondered what the general MN consensus is, so I am fully prepared!
Thanks

chocolatchaud Sun 02-Oct-11 19:39:56

I think mainly I want DS to settle in happily to school, get to grips with the routines and rules, make some friends and feel confident about going.

It would also be nice if he got a good grounding in the basics of reading - i.e phonics and blending - and some basic numeracy. I think it's more fun if done in line with some imagination-capturing projects, that appeal to 4/5 year olds - e.g our Reception teacher introduced the rhythm of words by getting them to make their own musical instruments, and presumably lot of banging followed! They use the Jolly Phonics scheme to start with - just to introduce each phonic - which seems to work really well.

I also like lots of PE - great for the boys who are not too hot on concentrating for long periods!

Good luck - sorry I can't be more specific on what I would like - generally we just all want them to be happy and not cry as they go through the door!

mrscraig Sun 02-Oct-11 19:44:05

Ooh like the musical instrument idea (scribbles it on plan for this week!).
I knwo what you mean about them not crying - when my two dds were in Rec, that was main stickler for me too!

SazZaVoom Sun 02-Oct-11 19:45:26

I would like to know what they are actually doing. My 4 yr old's report on the day is, i fear, not 100% accurate.