Talk

Advanced search

Reading query

(30 Posts)
everpuzzled Fri 30-Sep-11 21:51:01

Hi this is my first time posting but was looking for some advice. Dd scored a 9 in reading on her foundations stage profile which came as a surprise as she was only on ORT3. We put a lot of work into reading last year and during the summer and I was really pleased with her progress. Her confidence has really grown her teacher assessed her at the beginning of this term and put her onto ORT4 but they are really easy for her. She read the secret room tonight and didn't need to sound any words out at all. She spoke about a few of the pictures after reading the text and changed expression when there was an exclamation etc. She said twice while reading this book is so easy isn't it? At home she has been reading the ORT read at home stage 5 ones pretty well. Last years school report praised her for confidence, expression and fluency while reading.

So my question is, is it ever ok to question a teacher about reading levels without appearing rude? And would you under these circumstances?

I don't necessarily want her reading level changed just some insight into what's holding her back so that I can work on it with her to enable her to move onto something a little bit more challenging sooner rather than later.

Thanks.

blackeyedsusan Fri 30-Sep-11 22:03:17

it is ok to ask. there may be a valid reason why the teacher thinks she is not ready for the next level. ask her to explain what aspects of reading you need to work on. your dd may not be doing the reading with expression thing at school though.

ort level 5 read at home are a lot harder than ort level 5 books.

carpwidow Fri 30-Sep-11 22:05:04

How old is she?

everpuzzled Fri 30-Sep-11 22:09:33

Thanks for replying I just don't want to offend her teacher. Her previous teacher said she was reading well with expreession but I wouldn't rule out the new teacher and classroom throwing her. It is a big change.