Talk

Advanced search

Working parents- before and after school care

(8 Posts)
Worcestercat Tue 13-Sep-11 22:29:57

We are looking at schools for my LO for September and there is a great school on the way to work (and only 2 miles from our house) which offer the breakfast club and after school club we need because we are working and don't have much flexibility in our work.
The problem is that it is over subscribed so we have a feeling we won't get in. The other schools in the area offer nothing similar (small villages) so I am feeling a bit anxious about how we will get my daughter to school.
I only work 3 days but we are new to the area and have no idea what we can do to get our daughter to school on time on those three days.
I am sure that the admissions team take no notice of your circumstances when the schools are allocated.
Ironically, I am a teacher but we never have anything to do with the admissions process so I haven't got a clue!
Any advice please?
x

annh Tue 13-Sep-11 22:38:19

Childminder in your village? Aupair if you have space for one? Ask other local parents what they do?

sleepwouldbenice Tue 13-Sep-11 22:57:51

Definately think about the childminder option, should fit well if you dont need the cover during school hols they can take on other kids then. only issue is their holidays / sickness but you can maybe get cover for these from other parents or your other half?

I think our council had a list of local ones otherwise the schools may be able to point you in the right direction

CustardCake Wed 14-Sep-11 08:46:42

A child minder is your best option. You are very unlikely to get a place at a school 2 miles away unless it is unpopular or not full due to its location. If it has lots of applicants, you almost certainly will not get in.