Talk

Advanced search

feel so out of touch

(4 Posts)
loosinas Wed 07-Sep-11 20:21:27

my son started year one today and i started work at a different school. last year i was taking him to school and picking him up but this year hes got a childminder doing that. already i feel so out of touch. its hard to get out of him what hes been doing and i feel like ARGH ... i dunno... im not going to have a relationship with his teacher or see whats going on in the classroom etc. how do working mums deal with this ?

IndigoBell Wed 07-Sep-11 20:50:05

Working Mums miss out sad

We really miss an awful lot.

I've cut down to working 4 days a week, because I was really missing out.

pointythings Wed 07-Sep-11 20:54:12

I've been doing this for 5 years now - have always worked f/t and not been the person to do drop off and pick-up. Keeping in touch with teachers has never been a problem, the school uses a link book system with which you can send messages to the teachers, these have always been answered. I always, always attend parents' evenings and have found that teachers have been more than willing to make time to meet if there were ever any issues - obviously with some flexibility on my part too, i.e. coming in to work late and then working late to make up the time.

I did have issues with cliquey school-gate mums - basically if you aren't one of the gang, they don't speak to you - but there is also a clique of working mums - we stay in touch via FB, make social arrangements for our children and on those occasions when we do get to the school for school fairs and so on, we tend to find each other. We are a lovely bunch (as I am sure the school gate gang are among themselves) so we all get the support we need.