Talk

Advanced search

school dinners or packed lunch??

(21 Posts)
mrsmerryberry Tue 16-Aug-11 16:40:14

My lo will be starting school full time in the middle of sept and I've no idea whether I should let lo have school dinners or provide a packed lunch. How did you do you decide??

sequinart Tue 16-Aug-11 16:42:26

I have three kids and resent the time spent making packed lunches so all mine have school lunches.

BeehiveBaby Tue 16-Aug-11 16:42:37

Laziness led me to school dinners TBH but I really believe that the quality and variety of meal is worlds apart from what I'd be able to muster up for a packed lunch. I am a good cook, it's just the packing bit. Most kids who have dinners eat loads more at school than they would tackle at home. The downside is social, they seperate them at school which is silly.

sixpinetrees Tue 16-Aug-11 16:49:28

I have 3 and I can't easily afford £30 a week so mine have packed lunch. I also don't think the quality of the food or the quantity is very good. It only takes 5-10 mins to make them and for some reason I loathe it. They like having packed lunch because you don't have to queue. You can sit where you want but, like Beehive says, it can be an issue if you get split from your mates who all have dinners.

MrsAJB Tue 16-Aug-11 16:53:09

I'm a primary school teacher and when my lo starts full time education, he'll be on packed lunch!!! Giving him a packed lunch means he'll get much better quality food than what a school kitchen produce with their small budgets! Kids just want to eat quickly and get back out into the playground anyway, 10 - 15 minutes with other children eating packed lunch only helps to extend their social skills if they're eating with children outside of their usual friendship groups x

midnightexpress Tue 16-Aug-11 16:53:15