Talk

Advanced search

Did you get any of your child's work home at end of term?

(22 Posts)
winosrus Thu 11-Aug-11 17:34:27

Am curious what happens to others as my DS hasn't brought home any exercise books from school (ever he is year 4) only two or three random bits of art. I would really LOVE to have some of his books for mementoes and to see what he has been doing, but they have a policy of keeping the kids books for a year in case of OFSTED and then binning or shredding all their work! What message does that give to the kids about all their hard work and why can't we parents choose. Arent they the property of the kids?
What happens to your kids work? And should I say something to the HT or does it look like pushy parent?

2BoysTooLoud Thu 11-Aug-11 17:41:37

Goodness I have never thought of them shredding stuff.
My ds is in year 1 and some stuff might be nice to have the option of keeping.

TheMonster Thu 11-Aug-11 17:44:13

I'm a secondary teacher and the policy at our school is to offer the pupils their books or they go into recycling. I think about 40% of my pupils took their books home.

mrz Thu 11-Aug-11 18:17:02

All my classes books went home at the end of term. In the years we have expected Ofsted we have kept work until after the visit and then sent it home.

EuphemiaMcGonagall Thu 11-Aug-11 18:49:27

I have an attic full of DD's work. hmm

Shitter Thu 11-Aug-11 19:02:19

there was quite a thread about it a few weeks ago.

here

littlebrownmouse Thu 11-Aug-11 19:06:10

We keep a more able, a middle ability and a less able each year for one year, all other books are sent home. If children really object to me keeping their books, I always cave in and let them take them home and try to persuade another child to let me keep theirs. After a year, the books are given back to their owner.

tiggerandpoohtoo Thu 11-Aug-11 19:08:05

My DD was in reception this year and all her books were sent home at the end of term.

Elibean Thu 11-Aug-11 19:08:23