Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

My ds has just finished y2 but has difficulties with KS1 English/Maths.

(14 Posts)
confusedandsilly Mon 08-Aug-11 09:57:56

He can't read yet chapter book, his spelling/writing is not great,same for maths. We try to help him but he is not receptive at all, I'm scared for him because the more he is behind the more it will be difficult to catch up for him. Shall I enroll a tutor on the top of the help we are already providing ?
Can you share your experience with me ?

mrz Mon 08-Aug-11 10:15:35

As a Y2 teacher I wouldn't expect most children to be reading chapter books so that really isn't a problem, as long as he can decode words and understand what he is reading he will be fine. Chapter books will come in time.
Difficult to say if he needs more help without knowing where he struggles and where he is in his learning.

IndigoBell Mon 08-Aug-11 10:19:08

What levels did he get in his KS1 sats? Level 1s or Level 2s?

It's quite possible your expectations are too high. If he can read a bit but not a chapter book he's probably exactly where he should be ( a level 2)

Same with maths. A L2 in maths seems like they can't do anything - but actually they're exactly where they should be.

Did school say he was behind?

confusedandsilly Mon 08-Aug-11 10:24:26

On his sats, he got an average of 2c. The teacher said he is a little behind.
I try to make him work a bit everyday but he is not interested. I dont want him to be top of the class, I just want him to be where he should be !

mrz Mon 08-Aug-11 10:37:08

A 2C is only marginally behind and certainly doesn't require the expense of a tutor.
Does he read for pleasure? comics magazines on line?

www.andrelleducation.co.uk/BMFreebies/BMBT%20Learn%20Its%20Tests.zip challenge him with the Y2 Learn it tests (takes 90 seconds a day)