Talk

Advanced search

Reception school - Start in September or wait! please advise!

(14 Posts)
sven2011 Mon 01-Aug-11 09:58:33

Hi all,
I am newbie here. This is my first visit to the website and obviously first post.

I am in a dilemma. Desperately need your advise. We are moving from Kent to Surreny soon. My little one is starting school this september. We did our best to move things faster so that we will be in our new home before school term starts but unfortunately it's been delayed for about a month/and half.

We are not sure what's best for our son, whether to start school here in Kent for few weeks until we move to Surrey. Or continue nursery until we finally move. We both work full time so he goes to nursery five days a week.

I personally feel that we should send him to nursery just not to make too many changes if it upsets him but a friend mentioned if he starts late then he will be behind other kids in learning.

What do you think? Any help much appreciated.

mrz Mon 01-Aug-11 10:47:15

Wait until you are settled in your new home

LawrieMarlow Mon 01-Aug-11 10:51:56

I would wait until you have moved I think.

Just wanted to check though - do you have a confirmed place for when you have moved?

Cattleprod Mon 01-Aug-11 10:55:34

I'd wait, but explain the situation to the nursery and ask if they can start doing some reception level work with him if they don't already do that, so he's not too behind when he does start school.

sven2011 Mon 01-Aug-11 12:47:13

Thank you all for your replies. We have checked the availability in Surrey there is a place available in a school that hasn't got good ratings on ofsted. And the closest which is good we will be 2nd in the waiting list.
We have also offered a place in Kent and I am going to speak with the Kent council and see if they can help us secure a place in Surrey.

LIZS Mon 01-Aug-11 12:52:45