Talk

Advanced search

anyone elses school not give assessment levels in a report at year 1?

(16 Posts)
Herecomesthesciencebint Fri 15-Jul-11 22:48:58

ours dont and its lovely! I got a great report detailing my sons achievements, areas to work on, pin pointing his personality, topics they had done etc and not one mention of a 1b,2a etc etc. Thank the lord.

Plenty of time for all that later hey!

megkat Fri 15-Jul-11 22:53:30

We didn't get them at Y1 but do at reception and Y2 sad

Herecomesthesciencebint Fri 15-Jul-11 22:56:33

didnt get them in reception either. assume next year there will be no escape tho!

tah2 Fri 15-Jul-11 22:58:16

Im a teacher in wales so i'm not sure if it will be different if you are from england/scotland but we give out levels at the end of each key stage. So that would mean that only children in year 2 and 6 get levels as part of their report. Im pretty sure its a statutory requirement on our behalf.
I dont think i would be happy about giving them out each year as it causes unessessary competition between parents, which isn't fair on the kids.
Enjoy your little one - they grow soo fast! smile

megkat Fri 15-Jul-11 22:58:30

Well actually we just got the scores in reception - not levels as such. can't stand either - just makes me worry....

Feenie Fri 15-Jul-11 22:58:54

There is a statutory obligation to report the teacher assessment at the end of Y2 and Y6.

letthembe Sat 16-Jul-11 10:20:25

how refreshing!! Stops all the crazy gloating and then frantic panicking. I want to post somewhere that the levels are pretty subjective - especially writing...just look at the fall out from this year's Y6 writing SAT.

LynetteScavo Sat 16-Jul-11 10:23:52

We don't get them.

I'm very glad. I like hearing DD is "fantastic" and "enthusiastic" I know if I was actually faced with her levels I would cry.

Eddas Sat 16-Jul-11 10:24:16