Advanced search

Get £10 off your first lesson with Mumsnet-Rated tutoring service Tutorful here

EYFS Assessment scales - HELP!

(5 Posts)
mumof2littlegirls Sat 09-Jul-11 15:44:09

Hello, my dd2 is in reception and without any explaination we have just recieved her scores for the 13 assessment scales. Could anyone please tell me what the scales (1-9) mean? I know these run from pre-school through to the end of reception?

Bonkerz Sat 09-Jul-11 15:48:51

Anything above 6 means performing above average for their age.

DesolationAngel Sat 09-Jul-11 15:58:31

Point 9 = Attainment of a child working beyond the Early Leaning Goals
Point 7-8 = Attainment above average for an Upper Foundation Stage child
Point 6 = Attainment expected of an average Upper Foundation Stage child
Point 4-6 = Attainment that is just below average for Upper Foundation stage child
Point 1-3 = Attainment that is well below average for an Upper Foundation stage child


meriden Sun 10-Jul-11 10:19:44

This link is in another thread called KUW in reception. Sorry can't do links but I found this helpful. Actually the explanation that follows is helpful too - in that they would score say a 4 if they could do any of the 4 things, rather than attain levels 1 to 4. (I think..also finding my way around this).

DesolationAngel Sun 10-Jul-11 14:47:06

You have to get points 1-3 before you can get any in the 4-8 band, which you can award in any order. You have to have 1-8 in order to get 9.
So if you have 4 points it would be 1-3 than one other from the 4-8 band.

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now »

Already registered? Log in with: